Brief Information You Should Know About The US Travel Ban On Nigeria

What Is The US Travel Ban?

A few days after taking the office in January 2017, President Trump signed a controversial travel ban stating that it was vital to protect Americans.

The ban which initially excluded people from seven majority-Muslim countries, now restricts citizens of Iran, Libya, Somalia, Syria, Yemen, Venezuela and North Korea.

What Are The New Rules?

The US said it would suspend the issuance of visas that can lead to permanent residency for nationals of Nigeria, Eritrea, Kyrgyzstan, and Myanmar.

Once the ban is in effect, Sudanese and Tanzanian citizens will no longer be allowed to apply for “diversity visas”.

Non-immigrant visas given to people for temporary stays – including visitors, those doing business or people seeking medical treatment – would not be impacted by the new rules.

According to the US government statistics, Nigerians account for the most immigration to the US with 8,018 immigrant visas issued to Nigerians in the fiscal year 2018

Why The Ban?

A proclamation issued on Friday, January 31, 2020, by the National Security and Defense and signed by Trump, stated the major reasons as:

  • Nigeria does not comply with the established identity-management and information-sharing criteria assessed by the performance metrics.
  • Nigeria does not adequately share public-safety and terrorism-related information, which is necessary for the protection of the national security and public safety of the United States.
  • Nigeria also presents a high risk, relative to other countries in the world, of terrorist travel to the United States.

When Will It Take Effect?

The immigration visa ban on Nigeria and five other countries will take effect on February 22, 2020.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *